MCSAP

Frequently asked questions concerning the Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program and commercial motor vehicles.

What is the 90,000 pound agricultural permit?

A special annual permit exists for vehicles to only carry agricultural inputs, farm supplies, biofuels, feed, raw or processed agricultural commodities, livestock, raw meat products intended by the shipper for further processing or farm products.The maximum weight is 90,000 lbs., with a minimum of six axles, and cannot be operated on the interstate.  A special

What is the 90,000 pound agricultural permit?2022-05-26T09:57:20-05:00

Are double and triple trailers legal in Kansas?

Yes.Doubles may be pulled anywhere, so long as the trailers are not over 28 ½ feet in length each, except on the Kansas Turnpike, where double 53-foot trailers are legal.Triple trailers are only allowed on the Kansas Turnpike with a “special vehicle combination” (SVC) annual permit (KAR 36-1-28).  Turnpike access routes include all routes between

Are double and triple trailers legal in Kansas?2022-05-26T10:15:29-05:00

What are the legal axle limits for overweight load permits?

KAR 36-1-37 outlines legal axle weights for overweight permits, as follows: Single, non-drive axle: 22,000 lbs. Single, drive axle: 24,000 lbs. Tandem axle: 45,000 lbs. Triple axle: 60,000 lbs. Quad or more: 65,000 lbs.

What are the legal axle limits for overweight load permits?2025-01-03T09:54:19-06:00

Does my trailer require a safety chain?

Federal regulation only requires safety chains on full trailers and dolly convertors.  State law requires safety chains for semi-trailers, except fifth wheel couplers. (49 CFR §393.70 and KSA 8-1907)

Does my trailer require a safety chain?2022-05-26T09:57:20-05:00

Are mudflaps required in Kansas?

Only Special Vehicle Combinations (SVC), which means truck-tractor and triple trailers, are required anti-spray devices in accordance with KAR 36-1-31. (l) Antispray devices.  Antispray mud flaps shall be attached to the rear of each axle except the steering axle. Mud flaps shall have a surface designed to absorb and deflect excess moisture to the

Are mudflaps required in Kansas?2022-10-31T15:43:12-05:00

What is the legal length in Kansas?

Generally, the legal length requirements are as follows (KSA 8-1904):Single vehicle, 45 feetTruck and trailer, 65 feetTruck-tractor and semi-trailer, no overall length limitationSingle trailer, 59 ½ feet eachDouble or triple trailers, 28 ½ feet eachPoles, pipes, machinery, or other objects of a structural nature that cannot be readily dismembered, 85 feet, unless a special permit

What is the legal length in Kansas?2022-05-26T09:57:20-05:00

What is the legal height in Kansas?

The legal height is 14 feet tallexcept for cylindrically shaped (round) hay bales, for which the maximum height 14 ½ feet tall. (KSA 8-1904)

What is the legal height in Kansas?2022-05-26T09:57:20-05:00
Go to Top